Skip to content

Walking the Talk

March 18, 2011

And so it begins.  Blogging.  I have attempted to blog on several occasions but could never quite find a clear cut direction or niche (well, nor the time).  I’d like to think I’ve failed miserably, but really, I’ve learned so many of the things not to do. Ultimately, my failures will surely lead to success as long as I keep trudging along.  I repeatedly express the importance of writing, reflection, and blogging to my students. I’ve much to say and there is much work to be done in this world of education.

Suzie & Vicki Davis at PETE&C 2011

I learn so much from my PLN through Twitter and reading blogs. My head is constantly a spin with the ideas thrown about.  I owe my inspiration to blog to Flat Classroom Project Co-Founder and colleague Vicki Davis, amongst others.  Just several weeks ago, she took thirty minutes out of her busy schedule, along with Lisa Durff,  to brainstorm ideas with me for this blog, using her new LiveScribe smart pen, over coffee during the PETE&C conference in Hershey, Pennsylvania.  I have learned more from both Vicki and Flat Classroom Project’s other half, Julie Lindsay, than I have from any professional development course or college course.  Ever.

The best part?  They are literally states, countries, and continents away from me.  That, my friends, is the true learning power of technology.

Educating in the American public school system is an uphill battle lately and it seems logical to document my own personal trek up the said hill.  Through challenging times great things can happen.  I simply refuse to be a bystander any longer.

I’ve found my focus.  I’ve found my niche.  It is, quite simply, passion & drive.  I have a passion and a conviction to show my students of what they are capable and I am determined to show them that they can, in fact, compete in a global educational environment despite their small-town background.

The field has been leveled.

The classroom walls are coming down.

The time has come for me walk the talk.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. skwebster permalink
    May 3, 2011 8:15 PM

    Suzie – we are SO on the same page that it’s weird. After many false starts, I too feel like it’s my passion and desire for balance that will help me become the blogger and reflective teacher I hope to be. I’ve subscribed to you and look forward to reading more!

  2. June 16, 2011 11:46 PM

    Alright, I am literally dyingggg to know more about flat classroom and how one goes about getting certified. Fill me in!

Share Your Thoughts